Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Course

Designed to give the student a comprehensive knowledge on the reading and understating of Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji as well as in depth history of the Bhagats and Gurus.

 SGGS READING – provide the essential techniques and knowledge in reading Gurbani with proper   pronunciations and punctuations. The delivery adopts a collective interactive method to encourage students to read in a group and thereby improve by listening.

UNDERSTANDING GURBANI – uses a contemplative learning method to enhance the understanding by describing the word, adding on the line-by-line approach and the entire shabad’s conceptual meaning. Includes learning the historials facts to when Gurbani was recited.

SIKH HISTORY – adopts inventive (resourceful) method which emphasises the learning of Sikh history including major milestones that helped shape the course of the Sikh religion. The syllabus contains various authentic historical references. .

The course is conducted over 4 years, divided into 8 semesters (17 weeks per semester) = 48 months = 128 weeks = 256 hours only

All these courses provide a means for Sikhs to understand their religion, learn about their heritage and most importantly, connect us with the Almighty.

Currently, over 1,000 students are pursuing this course at the our Academy Centers

The syllabus is prepared by Sikh Scholars based on universally accepted references within the Sikh Diaspora.  To-date the entire syllabus has received accreditation from the Sri Akal Takhat, Amritsar, Takht Sri Harmander, Patna Sahib and by the Head Priest of Sri Harmander Sahib, Amritsar.

Year 1 Sem 1 Vol 1 – Ang 1 to 117 • Bhagat Kabir Ji Salok 15 Bhagats
Sem 2 Vol 2 – until ang 250 • Bhagat Farid Ji Salok Life of Guru Angad Dev Ji
• Bhavan Akhree
Year 2 Sem 1 Vol3 – until ang 400 • Shehaskriti Salok Life of Guru Amardas Ji
• Jaitsri Di Vaar
Sem 2 Vol4 – until ang 600 • Ghata Life of Guru Ram Das Ji
• Alahneeaa
• Ramkali Sad
Year 3 Sem 1 Vol5 – until ang 800 • Bara Mah (Majh) Life of Guru Har Rai Ji
• Sidh Ghost
Sem 2 Vol6 – until ang 1000 • Funhay Life of Guru Harkrishen Ji
• Chaubolay
• Lava
• Dhakni Ongkar
Year 4 Sem 1 Vol7 – until ang 1200 • Sri Japji Sahib Life of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji
Sem 2 Vol8 – until ang 1430